Online Photo Café : SHOUT Festival, Holly Revell & Laura Chen, 18th November, 6PM, Zoom

Online Photo Café

Photo Café is an informal discussion and meeting place, an event that invites speakers and participants to discuss ideas, debate topics around contemporary photography issues and network with others. The event is for photographers, artists with a photographic practice, students and general public with an interest in the subject.

Photo Café will feature photographers and artists talking about their work, ideas, audiences and engagement. Our programme of talks and conversations take place on line, via Zoom, you can book your free place via the links below, an email with the link to join the Zoom meeting will be sent out to attendees prior to the talks taking place.

Photo Café with SHOUT Festival, Holly Revell & Laura Chen 
18th November, 6PM, Zoom
Book a free ticket here

Holly Revell & Laura Chen who will discuss their work being exhibited as part of SHOUT Festival.

Queer Photography at Southside is a new public photography exhibition featuring the works of Holly Revell and Laura Chen who are using photography to capture local queer communities and to celebrate their diversity.

Holly Revell project “People like us” is a participatory photography project that focuses on AFAB (assigned female at birth) trans and non-binary identities and experiences. Through this viewers are invited to engage with images of gender non-conforming people which have been made collaboratively putting participants at the forefront.

Laura Chen “Killer Queens” captures Birmingham’s drag community celebrating their uniqueness to the contemporary British and global drag scene.

Due to unforeseen circumstances Queer Photography at Southside exhibition is postponed until 22nd November 2021. Unfortunately, the combination of bad weather and damage to the original site of the exhibition, caused this change. We apologise for any inconvenience this might cause, however we want to make sure that this important exhibition have a best possible space. Thank you for your patience, and if you any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me on

For more information about the exhibition and SHOUT Festival please click here.

Holly Revell:
Holly Revell is an artist, photographer who makes collaborative portraits exploring transforming identities. Projects include ‘Transformations’, photographs reflecting the transition from drag to self in one long-exposure (2016), ‘David Hoyle: Parallel Universe’ photo-book (2017) and her current project ‘People Like Us’, exploring queer masculinity from AFAB (assigned female at birth) perspectives.

Laura Chen:
Laura Chen (b. 1997) is a Dutch image maker and writer based in London, UK. Working within the fields of photography, video, mixed-media and found or archival material, her multidisciplinary practice associates a fine art and documentary approach where research and implementation are closely intertwined.

Recurring themes and interests include identity, memory, tactility, the marginalised, disregarded and overlooked – whether in everyday objects or groups of people who live and work on the fringes of society. Fascinated by observing and recording her daily encounters and whereabouts, she uses photography as a catalyst for her imagination, her camera as a tool and device to make sense of the world and the obscurities of the mundane.

She is currently editorially contributing to GUP Magazine.

Her work has been featured in and published by Photo London, Lensculture, GUP New, Canon, PHmuseum, Life Framer, Shutterhub, Fresh Eyes, Aesthetica Magazine, Musée Magazine, Float Magazine and Intern Magazine, amongst others. She has exhibited at Westergas Amsterdam (NL), Keilepand Rotterdam (NL), Midlands Art Centre (UK) and Ikon Gallery (UK).

In 2020 she graduated from Birmingham City University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Photography. She is currently undertaking a Masters in Photography Arts at the University of Westminster.

Book a free ticket here

Past Photo Café speakers include; Natalie Willatt, Tim Mills, Clare Hewitt, Laura Dicken, Elisa Moris Vai, Lesia Maruschak, Vera Hadzhiyska, Richard Mark Rawlins, Chris Hoare, Kirsty Mackay, Ania Ready, Gianluca Urdioz, Holly Houlton, Paul Romans, Tommy Sussex, Exposure Photography Festival, Emma Palm, Louie Villanueva, Angela Boehm, Dona Schwartz, The Other, Kelly O’Brien, Joanne Coates, Maryam Wahid, Camilla Brown, East Meets West, Multistory, Emma Chetcuti, Jaskirt Boora, Jagdish Patel, Liz Wewiora, Anthony Luvera, Rachel Barker, Sam Ivin, Mark Murphy, Andy Pilsbury, Nilupa Yasmin, Emma Case, Rob Hewitt, Living Memory Project, Geoff Broadway, Adam Neal, Emily Jones, Andrew Jackson, Atillio Fiumarella, Max Kandhola, Faye Claridge, Tom Hicks, Charisse Kenion, Gunhild Thomson, Marcus Thurman, James Abelson, Leanne O’Connor, Lucy Turner, Leah Hickey, Laura Chen, Amanda Holdom, Tia Lloyd, Anand Chhabra, Beth Kane, Chris Neophytou, Jonny Bark, Fraser McGee, Peta Murphy, Red Eye, Duck Rabbit, Lilly Wales, Matthew Finn, Walter Rothwell, Richard Lambert, Anneka French, Caroline Molloy, Tarla Patel and Mark Wright.

Copyright 2016 GRAIN.